Dancing through life

“Worry is like a rocking chair: it gives you something to do but never gets you anywhere”

-Erma Bombeck

Does anyone else besides me turn up the music really loud and dance around the house when they’re home alone?

So I have a secret confession, I am very guilty of this and my music choices range from Enrique Iglesias (or anything latin pop, great dancing music), Disney classics, Justin Timberlake, Spice Girls, Usher, Chris Brown, and anything with a beat. There is nothing better than to come home after a long, exhausting day and just shake it off. I have found on those kind of days, when I am in a terrible mood and have barely smiled all day, turning on some tunes and dancing around like an idiot is often the best therapy. Within seconds, I find myself smiling and laughing, although I’m usually laughing at myself for being so stupid but at least I’m smiling! My neighbors or anyone walking by my house probably think I’ve gone mad, oh well, they can judge.

For me, dancing has always been a way to relieve stress, fear, and worry. In fact, dancing is probably something that saved my life. Shortly after receiving radiation, when my health started to go downhill, and doctors thought I would die within weeks, instead of giving up, I started to dance. Even though I couldn’t walk by myself, my mom and I would spend hours dancing around our house. She would hold onto my hands just like a mom does when teaching a baby to walk and we would just move to the beat. Every Saturday, the local radio station used to have “a disco night” where they played disco music from 7-11pm.  We would spend hours dancing to disco hits, making up routines to our favorite songs, and shaking “our groove thing”. It was so much fun and quite a workout too. Little by little, my mom started to let go of my hands, I began to pick up my feet, move on my own, and retaught myself how to walk.  Along with my physical health slowly improving, my attitude on life, and my mental health started to turn around too. So technically, dancing and disco music (along with other things) saved my life.

Along with the obvious physical benefits of dancing, it can also help with one’s mental health, keeping your mind sharp and boosting your happiness by releasing endorphins.

endorphins

I am guilty of being a bit dramatic sometimes, second-guessing myself, and worrying way too much. But lately, I don’t know what’s gotten into me but it seems like life has stolen all joy from me. Worrying about tomorrow, next week, or  where I’ll be this time next year. Making up problems in my head, focusing only on what ifs. Being depressed about a present situation and standing still in fear, anxiety instead of taking action to fix that problem. today

But one day this week, after being stuck in a funk, I broke out my iPod, turned the music up loud, and just danced. I felt a genuine smile come across my face as I moved through the room, pretending to be in Justin Timberlake’s Rock Your Body video. Slowly my worries, anxieties, and problems danced away with the music. My mind felt clear once again and my soul felt happy. (yes, it sounds weird but it’s true, don’t judge)

Dancing may not be the secret cure to cancer or the solution to every problem in the world but it is fantastic therapy for body, mind, and soul. So when life brings you a new challenge or a difficult but fun situation to overcome, don’t just stand still, dance through it.

Dancing through life
Swaying and sweeping
And always keeping cool
Life is fraught-less
When you’re thoughtless
Those who don’t try
Never look foolish
Dancing through life
Mindless and careless
Make sure you’re where less
Trouble is rife
Woes are fleeting
Blows are glancing
When you’re dancing
Through life…

-Wicked

Leave a comment

Filed under Positive attitude towards life

Leave a Reply

