You’ve got a friend in me

Some other folks might be
A little bit smarter than I am
Bigger and stronger too
Maybe
But none of them will ever love you the way I do
It’s me and you
And as the years go by
Our friendship will never die
You’re gonna see
It’s our destiny
You’ve got a friend in me

Have you ever wondered if your toys come to life when nobody is watching? Or if they have their own “toy world”?

Toy Story was the beginning of a great relationship between Disney and Pixar, bringing in a new wave of Disney movies and how they were animated. Filled with awesome characters like Woody and Buzz Lightyear who teach us about friendship, life, and dealing with change. Toy Story is the perfect movie for the kid at heart and has captured the interest of people of every age.

For me personally, Toy Story holds a special place in my heart. I have a memory of staying home from school one day, sick with the latest bug spreading around my class. I was in fifth grade and it was a year before my dad passed away from ALS. He had been able to continue to work while he had the disease but was forced to retire two years before his death because the disease had progressed. So when I was home that day, he was there too.

Although my dad didn’t like watching Disney movies as much as I did, Toy Story was one of his favorite Disney movies. I don’t know what it was about Toy Story that he loved, whether it was the new animation style, the idea of toys being alive, or having great actors such as Tim Allen, narrate the voices of the characters. But what I do know is my dad loved that movie and it was a unanimous decision as to what movie we would watch that day. Now whenever I think of Toy Story, it reminds me of my dad and how nice it was to be at home, sick that day.
My dad was an astrophysicist and was extremely intelligent. He actually was part of the team that fixed the lens on the Hubble Space Telescope and worked for NASA However, his math and science genes skipped over me and instead I have my mom’s love of literature and writing.
Sometimes I look up at the night sky and can understand how  my dad was so fascinated with space. Shortly after he died, I did a report for school on stars. Although they are just balls of burning gas, each star is so intricate and detailed. Some creating beautiful designs that paint the universe and illuminating the dark  abyss. (Guess that was one thing he gave me)
]t’s during those times that I often think back to Buzz Lightyear and his famous quote “infinity and beyond!”. Having lived longer without my dad than with him, this quote describes our bond, it goes infinity and beyond. He might have not been there throughout the years, was able to come to my graduations, or be there for other monumental moments in my life; but he still is part of my life. And although I don’t see him on a daily basis, he still shows up whether it is through a song, a random stranger, or even food.  Even though he’s not here, our friendship will never die.
 buzz-lightyear
To infinity and beyond!
-Buzz Lightyear
2 Comments

Filed under Positive attitude towards life

2 responses to “You’ve got a friend in me

  1. Oh my! I am crying here. What a beautiful tribute to your Dad. I wrote him before he retired and told him that because of him, people all over the world and for many decades to come would be able to see things that we would never have imagined. You may not have gotten his science genes, but, you got a part of him that touches lives like no one else. So very proud of you. Love you.

    Like

  2. It is so funny you wrote this!! Just this week I bought the box set of Toy Story 1 2 and 3 on blu ray. I collect Disney movies and have them all on video tape but am now recollecting on DVD and buray and I just got that this week! Love Toy Story!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

