Taking a page from The Jungle Book

Look for the bare necessities
The simple bare necessities
Forget about your worries and your strife

Have you ever re-watched a children’s movie or listened to kid’s music and got more out of it as an adult than you previously did as a child?

To anyone who knows me, it is no suprise to them of my love for Disney. I spent most of my childhood watching Disney movies, singing along to every song, and being influenced by the many life lessons Disney taught. Most of my favorite childhood memories include Disney whether it is the princesses, beloved characters such as Winnie the Pooh, or other cheesy yet awesome shows like Lizzie McGuire.

After my first brain tumor surgery, Make-A-Wish partnered with Give Kids the World and sent my family to Disney World for a week long vacation. It was such a fun and magical experience filled with amazing memories that I will cherish forever.

One of my favorite parts of having to spend so much time at Johns Hopkins Hospital as a kid, was the fact that they had The Disney channel which we didn’t have it at home. I easily wasted hours in my hospital room just chilling out, watching The Disney channel. But when I had my second brain tumor surgery, two years later, they had taken away the channel! I was devasted, along wiith many other kids. Needless to say, Johns Hopkins quickly fixed that issue and made sure to provide the channel again for the children’s center.

The other week, as I was listening to a Disney playlist and once again, the songs inspired me just as they did when I was a kid. So many of them contain messages of how to deal with difficulties in life, how to treat those around you, and to never give up.

One of my favorite songs is Bare Necessities from The Jungle Book. The song makes you want to dance. It is so happy and light-hearted. In Bare Necessities, Baloo explains to Mowgli the importantance of letting go of your worries, having a good time with your friends and family, and going with the flow. He teaches Mowgli that some of the greatest gifts in life, such as love, friendship, and laughter, are free and there is no need to stress out over these things. These are natural pleasures and can enhance our mood causing us to enjoy our lives more. (Who doesn’t like that idea?!) So many times, we waste so much time and energy worrying that we neglect the people we love.  Worrying takes away from living in the present moment which is something I’ve repeated in many of my posts because I feel like this is something we all need to work on. (especially me)

At the end of the song, Baloo touches on another important lesson.

“And don’t spend your time lookin’ around
For something you want that can’t be found                                                                                 When you find out you can live without it
And go along not thinkin’ about it
I’ll tell you something true”.

He continues to tell us how we should relish in what we have instead of wanting what we don’t have. And that, more than often, if we do stumble upon what we thought would make us happier; we end up still searching for more instead of appreciating what we’ve had all along.

As we approach the new year, it is easy to get caught up in New Year’s resoluions and our goals for the future but don’t let your goal for an entire year, keep you from living one day at a time and being grateful for love, friendships, and the life that we have been given.

baloo

The bare necessities of life will come to you
They’ll come to you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Positive attitude towards life

Leave a Reply

