Don’t hate on the end piece

There’s something so comforting about a freshly baked loaf of bread. Whether it’s slathered with butter, olive oil, or tomatoes and cheese. Or if the bread is little crusty or smooshy, I don’t discriminate. I’ve never met a bread I don’t like. Those who give up or limit your  carbs, kudos to you, because that’s something I could never do.

But when it comes to a baguette or a nice loaf, I head straight for the end piece.  One of my favorite memories of Msgr. Art is how we used to argue over the end piece of bread. He always said it was a sin to waste good bread. I’m not really sure why we fought over this but what I do know is that I usually got my way.

So many people throw away the end pieces of bread loaves or look at them with disgust like they’re contaminated  with an infectious disease. I honestly love the end pieces. They offer the best of both worlds, soft on one side but crusty and crunchy on the other. Because of their rounded shape, the end pieces are easy to dip into soups, sauces, olive oil or hold onto while you butter it.  And because the end protects the rest of the loaf, it is somewhat thicker therefore absorbing more flavor and having a little more compared to the rest of the loaf. The end piece may look weird or get a bad reputation but it’s really not all that bad.

The truth is without the end piece a loaf is not complete. And if you think about it, a loaf of bread is like life in the sense that without difficult times (or that crunchy end piece) you cannot have the good times. And it is those challenging times that help us to grow stronger and learn how to protect ourselves.

“Forest Gump may think life is like a box of chocolates but I say life is like a loaf of bread”

4 Comments

Filed under Life in general

4 responses to “Don’t hate on the end piece

  1. Dottie

    I think this is one of my most favorite “pieces” you have submitted ! I always want the middle slice if bred …..hard on the edges, soft on the inside ! Love you, Beth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love to toast the end pieces… and then slather it with butter… love you, this was great and now… I think I am going to go have that last piece of bread and toast it!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

