It’s the little things

“The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched – they must be felt with the heart.”

-Helen Keller

As the Christmas season comes into full swing, people are rushing around searching for the perfect gifts, finding the perfect tree, and the perfect  everything; stress and anxiety are at an all  time high. Worrying about who to buy for or what they want. Better make sure to get that nice party platter. What do I wear to that Christmas party? Hopefully I can afford that. Aren’t the holidays about being joyous and relaxing?! Instead it’s about making sure everything is perfect and worrying about what you don’t have.

The other day I spoke at a business luncheon. I enjoy every opportunity I have to share my story with others, to watch their reactions, and to hear that I inspired them in someway or gave them a different perspective. But what is really cool though is how in return it helps me too; I am inspired by them.  The responses, reactions, and personal stories are so touching and moving. I lift them up through telling my life story but they lift me up too and, at least for me, that is one of the greatest gifts I can receive.

It made me think that really the best things in life are not things; they’re relationships or how people make you feel. And I’m not just talking about romantic feelings but those who give you confidence, encourage you to keep trying or challenge you to become a better person.  It’s said over and over, especially this time of year, but it’s true; the best things in life are not presents, decorations, or fancy cookies (although they’re all nice) ;  it’s about helping those around us, giving your time to others, and offering a smile every now and then.

 So before you start panicking  about whether you have enough food for your holiday party, whether the bows match the wrapping paper, or if they’ll like the present you got them. Stop, take a breath, and remember Christmas and life in general are not about the material things but about relationships with others, how they make you feel, about moments, and creating memories.

Leave a comment

Filed under Simple things

Leave a Reply

