Comparison: a dangerous game

Franklin Roosevelt once said “Comparison is the thief of joy”

I don’t know about you but comparing myself to others and not being content with who I am, is something I’m very guilty of. I am always comparing myself to others whether in life and especially on social media.

To me, the desire to want to improve oneself is natural but it’s when you start not being content with who you are and wishing for someone else’s life, that you stop being grateful for what you have.

Every Sunday, for the past couple weeks at least, I’ve noticed the cutest family at church; a mother, husband, and an adorable baby. Now I know church isn’t the appropriate place to compare yourself or people watch but let’s be honest, it’s kind of hard not to. The mom looks to be about my age and it’s obvious they’re a young married couple. I sometimes think “Where did I go wrong? I’m not ready for any of that.  Am I wrong for being 25 years old, living at home, and having my best friend be my mom? I need a life.”

Well after weeks of watching this woman and her family, my mom and I stopped to talk to her. My mom immediately complimented her on the dress she was wearing which was gorgeous. And for just having a baby; she looked amazing! All three of us started talking, like women tend to do. We told her how we watch her family every week and what a wonderful family they are. But what stuck in my head was when she said she loves watching my mom and I every week, how seeing a mother and daughter is so beautiful and it makes her miss her own mother.

That comment made me stop and think. I was so concentrated on what I don’t have and comparing myself to others that I forgot to be thankful for what I do have. I want what you have but you want what I have?! It is like that quote “Be thankful for what you have. You have no idea how many people would love that.”

Maybe I get frustrated with my life at times and we all do every now and then but it’s important to remember that we are where we are meant to be at this moment and we never know what the future holds.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Positive attitude towards life

One response to “Comparison: a dangerous game

  1. Beautifully written, you have such a way to say things that make me take notice and respond. Love you and I am so grateful to have you in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

